Macy is she me…..in part yes

image

How did Hook Up come about? Through life’s experiences. As the story formed I saw myself, a large woman who had been bullied throughout my school years then undermined by a domineering abusive husband for twenty three years.

I brought up my two boys with the help of my parents as my husband drank away any money he had, it was hard and I found myself very vulnerable to any form of  emotion. Through lack of the love I craved I became an emotional wreck in need of any sort of friendship and found I became too trusting and open which led to being hurt so many times until finally the right man found me and gave me the confidence to start living –  and I must confess I did start to live and really love. At forty three years of age I finally knew what an orgasm was and even now I think how sad that is.

Working as a carer in the community also gave me a huge insight into people’s lives, how they are treated, how vulnerable you can become and how accepting some people could be. There was also the other side of the coin – bitchiness, backstabbing and hatefulness caused by not understanding how others live their lives. Prejudice against race,size religion gender and sexuality  was also almost every where I went  and it drove me crazy to hear people being labeled.

Sian and I became good friends and I asked her to help with a book and one day the first chapter just popped into my head, we actually thought it would be in the middle of the book when we started but no it was the start of a flowing story which came usually in the middle of the night, and yes it was written on an old Sony Ericsson mobile phone which today is not that original.

The phone I used to send my ideas to Sian
The phone I used to send my ideas to Sian

As Macy was described I realised it was me and I liked the idea of a real person somebody normal so to speak, not beautiful and rich just an everyday woman who had real life experience. I tried to feel how Macy felt in certain situations and being my age I found that I could understand and relate to how other people felt and not judge them for their chosen lifestyle, after all my own whole life was judged by people who thought I should be slim or happy with my lot but they never walked in my shoes so I value other people’s lives we live as we see fit we are who we are and we love who we love regardless of what anyone else may think and its your right to do so .

I also used my experience of going on line to meet people. I laugh at myself now as I’m amazed that I did that….went online and sex talked wow….! It was quite fun and safe  and a way to find out about my own likes or dislikes. I talked to all sorts of wonderful, strange, lonely people and found that I was unbelievably honest with these strangers and in reality I did not know who the hell I was actually talking too….but boy I found out quite a bit and this is where Tobias came from. He was formed in my imagination from talks I’d had on a chat page – and boy we had some chats! …….sorry, I’m really quite taken aback by feelings that just flooded back from these rooms.

Tobias was based on a man unable to tell his girlfriend how he felt. He had experimented on the odd occasion but talking to me he opened up and the fantasies we drew together were quite something. It was fun and honest and we both accepted what we wanted and what we liked, and all on a screen.

Me and Sian - the Welsh writing duo!
Me and Sian – the Welsh writing duo!

Hook up by Harvey Jones available from:-

http://www.rowanvalebooks.com

http://www.amazon.co.uk

Facebook page – Harvey Jones

Leave a Reply

