AN INTERVIEW WITH ARLINE LOTT MILLER

 

Welcome everyone to another worthy author, we say hi to the lovely Arline Lott Miller

Screen Shot 2016-12-25 at 8.06.19 PM

Harvey Jones
Hi Arline, please tell us a bit about yourself.

Arline
First, let me thank you for this interview. I love talking but usually not about myself. I work full time as a project manager and write as my escape. I am a romantic myself so romance comes easily for me but I am also a mystery fan and that adds the suspense in my writing. I thrive on challenges and goals. My goal when I was a young lady was to write a book one day. I have written a blog since 2012 and love to encourage others to dream and see if that dream can become a reality. Family is important to me and my sweet romance with my husband gives me inspiration.

Harvey Jones
Have you always enjoyed writing and who or what inspires you?

Arline
I have always loved reading and from reading a variety of authors I was inspired to write. Poetry was the first avenue I took along with short stories. One of my English teachers, Ms. Moorman, used one of my book reviews as an example of how it should be written and she inspired me to see the writing gift I have been given.

Harvey Jones
When you’re writing what does your work station look like ?

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 11.07.20 AM

Arline
I guess that is an example of my ‘out of the box’ personality. I have a beautiful desk which is a wonderful venue for writing but both of my books were written from my laptop propped on my legs while I sat on my bed. I have a nice stand which I do use for the long stints. I love being comfortable and this position is relaxing but functional.

Harvey Jones
I know you have two wonderful romance books out now, A Mistress A Wife and Tell Me Lies Love Me Still, is there a third?

Arline
I have begun writing the third and final book in this Reflections of Love series and it’s titled Riddle Me This, Love or Bliss? I title my books before I write, which may or may not be the norm for writing but I set the mood from the title.

Book frame ads
Harvey Jones
Could we have links to your books and any other links you use?
Arline
A Mistress, A Wife
by Arline Miller
Link: http://amzn.com/B00ZPT6VIG

Tell Me Lies; Love Me Still (Reflections of Love Book 2)
by Arline Miller
Link: http://a.co/1vmFP6m

A Mistress, A Wife by Arline Miller
Link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00ZPT6VIG
FACEBOOK: @arlinemiller1author

Twitter: Arline Miller@arline_miller
Email: arlinemiller@bellsouth.net
My Blog: http://www.sippingcupsofinspiration.wordpress.com

My Website: http://arlinemiller7.wixsite.com/website
Harvey Jones
You also do a very interesting blog – what do you want to achieve through your posts?

Arline
My blog was inspired from my post messages on Facebook. Many people encouraged me to start a blog when I was unfamiliar with what a blog meant. It has developed from inspirational life lessons to a format of learning new ways to look at life’s issues, thought provoking focuses, and healthy eating pages. I have added pages to include a page of quotes I created. I want the readers to begin their thought process from a topic and develop their path of an enhanced life.

Harvey Jones
Would share an example of one of your blogs from your cups of inspiration?

Arline
The blog post which had the most views and is still one of my faves focused on the innocence and honesty of children. Here is the blog post:

TODAY THE WORDS are OUT OF THE MOUTHS OF BABES. This topic is inspired by two of our five grandsons visiting us this weekend. We, as adults, try to express ourselves in a tactful way while children call it as they see it. There is a sense of innocent air when a child is in your presence and it is refreshing for a change. It is a lesson to all of us grown up kids, who some are more grown up than others to remember; innocence is a good thing. If a child likes something he or she is eating, the words yum or yummy; if they don’t they express that dislike as much. Adventures and new things are expressed with eyes wide open, smiles on their faces and they truly enjoy life at its best. They don’t have any trouble telling grown-ups if they are not ready to do things; they express when they are ready. Statements like Abram and Nolan were saying, “We don’t like spiders but we would go on spaceships” shows the broad spectrum of their imagination. It is easy for them to say I love Nana; I love Granddaddy but either of us may go up or down on the scale of love and we may score 100 or 500 at any given time. We work hard to get the 500 I can assure you and there is fierce competition between Nana and Granddaddy.
Now for the deeper thought. Innocence is sometimes lost in the adult world and I may not be advocating that we become children and say what always comes to our mind. Children can say things and it is looked at humorously, but what comes out of adult mouths should reflect others’ reaction to what we say. We should however be honest with our thoughts and intentions. Deceit is not healthy for young or old. Remember, children learn from adults and if they hear things that are not true or honest, they learn fast and therefore, innocence may be lost. God loves pureness, truthfulness, innocence, and most importantly, love. All parents, all grandparents, stop for a moment, and close your eyes…. think of one of the precious little ones who says openly and honestly, “I love you Nana Five Hundred.” Love is wonderful with life thrown in; Life is wonderful with love thrown in!
Harvey Jones
Do you write any other genre?
Arline
I haven’t written in another genre as yet, but I want to venture into non-fiction in the future. Several people have approached me with their stories of real life adventure, mystery and histories and this sparked an interest to tell their stories.

 

Book signing in Douglas GA
Harvey Jones
What advice would you give to anyone thinking of writing a novel?

Arline
I think the best advice is to dedicate oneself to the novel completion. It requires dedication and sacrifice to see a book through to the finished product. It is a work of art and an individual masterpiece and whatever the product becomes, this will have one’s name on it. The thrill of seeing my name on my books is worth all the time invested in each one. When you read the finished book, stop and think, “Would I be able to put this book down if I chose to read it?”

Harvey Jones
Well I have to say it’s been a pleasure to speak to you and we wish you much success for the future and thank you for taking the time to chat to us.

 

TELL ME LIES LOVE ME STILL MACON TELEGRAPH

Leave a Reply

