AN INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR ALICIA WRIGHT

IMG_1825

 

Welcome to our monthly author interview – we have the delightful Alicia Wright with us.

Harvey Jones
Hi Alicia tell us a bit about yourself.

Alicia Wright
Hi there! Well, I’m an indie author. I’ve been writing for a few years, and been self-publishing for just over two. I’ve got 7 books out now, mostly romance.

Harvey Jones
When did you start writing and who or what inspired you to write?

Alicia Wright
I started writing a few years back, at least novel size stuff. I’ve been into writing, poetry and such, since I was 11. I’ve always liked to turn feelings into words. In more recent years the reason I started writing books was because of a recurring dream I’d had for months. It wouldn’t go away! But each time I dreamed I’d see another detail, and I’d think “this would be a lovely movie or show”, and then I figured I’d better write it down! So I did, and it turned into a book. Never had the dream since then.

Harvey Jones
What’s the first book that held your attention so much you had to finish it?

Alicia Wright
Both my first and second books were like that. Blood Price was a flow, and had a pretty spectacular ending that I had to get down. But when I got there, the characters decided it needed to be different. HAHA! They won out. In Hartman House, the stories of the two main characters flowed as well, and I think I was releasing some pent-up feelings myself by writing it. Since then, I’ve been a little more relaxed in writing, until my short story Marigold, which I wrote over a weekend and had published by the next.

Harvey Jones
What genre do you write?

Alicia Wright
I started out in fantasy, medieval and urban. Magic and monsters, heroes and villains. I thought that was all I’d ever want to write until I picked up on writing Agent Colt, which was a modern-day spy fiction. My short story was military. Took me a while to come to the conclusion that what I REALLY write is romance. I resisted being another romance novelist for a long time, but came to realize that it wasn’t such a bad thing. My novels are all themed and tied to strong women characters, working to become better or stronger or to overcome something.

Harvey Jones
What are you working on now?

 

Alicia Wright
Yet another romance novel! HA! Well, this one is actually the second book I ever started to write on, but had abandoned it thinking it would never amount to anything. But I was drawn back into it recently. It’s a MC/Biker romance about a young woman whose family was riddled with suicides, and her whole town viewed her as a crazy person who may be the next to jump from a building. Then she meets a group of bikers on the outskirts of her small town and finds out the suicides may not be what actually happened at all.

 

Harvey Jones
Do you have any unusual habits when writing?

Alicia Wright
I’d say procrastination, but I hear that’s not so unusual amongst writers. Well I love music, and sometimes certain music gives me inspiration. When I was writing Blood Price I listened to more melodic music. With Agent Colt I listened to poppy, upbeat music. Sometimes I have to write in silence.

Harvey Jones
Could we have links to your twitter fb etc. ?

Alicia Wright
Sure!
http://www.facebook.com/noblebloodbooks
http://www.twitter.com/nobleofblood
https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00YCBM5XI

 

Harvey Jones
Do you do a lot of research for your books, and how do you dream up your characters?

Alicia Wright
I do research localities, landmarks, etc. when I am using a familiar place. Unfortunately, I’m not able to travel for research yet, but hope to someday. My characters usually only need a starting point, and they tend to invent themselves. I have a lot of fun arguing with characters in my head, about how they should approach certain scenes or situations.

Harvey Jones
What advice would you give to someone thinking of self-publishing?

Alicia Wright
Well my advice is to seek like-minded folks who have already done it. I flailed about in the dark my first two times getting a book published because I didn’t know important things, like having beta readers and utilizing pre-orders. I actually just published a small booklet called Help! I Want to Self-Publish, But I Don’t Know How! It’s free on Amazon, B&N, Nook etc.

Harvey Jones
Do you design your own covers, is it hard to do?

Alicia Wright
I love everything about the creative process, including making the covers. I’ve made all of mine except for one, and I love them more and more each time I create them. I wrote an erotic romance under a pen name, Silke Black, and I think that’s the best cover I’ve created so far:

 

Harvey Jones
Do you have any hobbies or pastimes besides writing?

Alicia Wright
I love motorcycles. I’m a certified Harley Davidson mechanic, and I used to own a custom bike shop with my Dad. I sold it after he passed away, but I have two bikes that I love to ride whenever I have time.

 

Harvey Jones
Finally, Alicia we thank you for the peek into your world we wish you much success.

Alicia Wright
Thank you so much for your time.

 

Leave a Reply

